page-content.php
01-01-michalsky-michael-michalsky_0Michael Michalsky
01-02-michalsky-michael-michalsky_0Michael Michalsky

Michael Michalsky

Michael Michalsky was born 1967 in Goettingen and grew up near Hamburg. Deeply fascinated by a documentary about Karl Lagerfeld, Michael took the decision to become a fashion designer at the age of 12. After finishing school, he left his home to study in London at the prestigious College of Fashion. As a picker he financed his studies, thus become a part of the local club scene.

Back in Germany, Michalsky worked as design manager for Levi´s before switching to adidas 1995. As global creative director Michael Michalsky led the sports brand to new glory and success. Since 2005 Michalsky is also supporting the luxury brand MCM as creative director. 2006 he left adidas to realize his dream of owning a fashion label and hence founded the lifestyle brand MICHALSKY in Berlin.

Today Michael Michalsky is one of the most influential designers. Besides working on his own label, Michalsky’s design expertise is regularly commissioned by companies outside the fashion area. Hence, he founded the design agency “MICHALSKY designlab” in 2009, which operates in the areas of product- and interior design, corporate fashion and staging.

Michalsky constantly works together with international artists. These collaborations bear the popular collages and prints, which appear in each MICHALSKY collection. Michalsky´s main source of inspiration is music, followed by his second great passion, photography. He owns an extensive collection including works from Herbert List, Yva, Edmund Kesting, Helmar Lerski, Horst P. Horst, and fashion photography from the 50s, 60s and 70s.

Michael Michalsky Portrait @ ARTE
  • Michael
  • Michael
  • with Franziska Knuppe
  • as Mickey Maus
  • Interview with Donald

page-content.php
01-01-michalsky-michael-michalsky_0Michael Michalsky
01-02-michalsky-michael-michalsky_0Michael Michalsky

Michael Michalsky

Michael Michalsky wird 1967 in Göttingen geboren und wächst in der Nähe von Hamburg auf. Eine Reportage über Karl Lagerfeld fasziniert den damals 12-jährigen Michael so sehr, dass er den Entschluss fasst Modedesigner zu werden. Nach der Schule verlässt er seine Heimat, um in London am renommierten College of Fashion zu studieren. Als Picker finanziert er sich das Studium und wird so zu einem Teil der schillernden Clubszene.

Zurück in Deutschland arbeitet Michalsky als Design Manager bei Levi`s, bevor er 1995 zu adidas wechselt. Als Global Creative Director führt Michalsky die Sportmarke zu neuem Ruhm und Erfolg. Seit 2005 unterstützt Michalsky zudem die Luxustaschenmarke MCM als Creative Director. Im Jahr 2006 verlässt er adidas, um seinen Traum vom eigenen Fashion Label zu erfüllen und gründet in Berlin den Lifestyle Brand MICHALSKY.

Heute ist Michael Michalsky einer der einflussreichsten Designer Deutschlands. Neben der Arbeit für das eigene Label wird Michalskys Design Expertise auch regelmäßig von Unternehmen außerhalb des Modebereichs beauftragt. Hierfür gründete er 2009 die Designagentur “MICHALSKY designLab”, die in den Bereichen Produktdesign, Interieur, Corporate Fashion und Kostümdesign tätig ist.

Immer wieder arbeitet Michalsky mit internationalen Künstlern zusammen. So entstehen die beliebten Collagen und Prints für die MICHALSKY-Kollektionen. Michalskys wichtigste Inspirationsquelle ist die Musik, gefolgt von seiner zweiten große Leidenschaft, der Fotografie. Michalsky besitzt eine umfangreiche Sammlung, unter anderem mit Werken von Herbert List, Yva, Edmund Kesting, Helmar Lerski, Horst P. Horst sowie Modeaufnahmen aus den 50er, 60er und 70er Jahren.

Michael Michalsky Portrait @ ARTE
  • Michael
  • Michael
  • mit Franziska Knuppe
  • als Mickey Maus
  • im Interview mit Donald